Parenthood Playlist

Friday 14th July, 2017
Hello everyone!

  Okay, see, I WAS about to post on a Friday but life’s shit got in the way and, you know, French liberation and all that revolutionary stuff, you know. So, I’m gonna say, SORRY, but here I am now on a random day. Everyday is pretty much a random day anyway. Alright, I realise that I have kept you hanging for a while now, so I’m just gonna give you the stuff I’m possibly gonna be posting within the next few weeks. I’d like to discuss:

  1. The Last Shadow Puppets (along with Lana Del Rey, new music and, of course, Alexa Chung)
  2. The Lemon Twigs (yes, again!)
  3. Wes Anderson (particularly, Rushmore– duh)
  4. And finally, a very shitty and worrying but possibly potentially plausible decision that I made on life
  5. Oh and this new Morrissey biopic

  Yeah- all of that crap so, if you don’t wanna hear this rant, don’t visit this page. Dunno why you do anyway but cheerio. But if you’re interested in me being a lunatic then, stay, baby, stay.

But what I’m gonna talk about TODAY is some weird loada stuff. Okay, so last night, man, I made a playlist for- and get this- my future kids.

The Tale of the Kid
Who Dreamed of Her Future Kids
Who’d Actually Appreciate Her Playlist

  ALRIGHT YES, YES, I’M INSANE SINCE I’M STILL AN ADOLESCENT but, man, I was watching this Nardwuar the Human Serviette interview with The Twigs and those brothers kept talking about how their mother made them listen to all these amazing people like The Beach Boys and The Beatles and how she wrote them raps to perform and stuff and I was like, “Hey, I wanna be that mom!” I swear to god, I said that aloud and my mom looked at me like “Heh?” And then she went back to her own business, since I’ve said weirder things.

Anyway, little did she know, I was being hella serious. I went on Spotify instantly and started making this playlist that I believe would make my children (as weird as that sounds) look at me from a different light and also, make them fuller and more musically educated and culture adults. I wanted to add The Revolution Will Not Be Televised by Gil-Scott Heron to the list but, I suppose, if they wanna listen to something like that, they should discover it by themselves… I just love that song. They might find it from me actually. And then get worried. But I did add We Don’t Believe What’s on TV by Twenty One Pilots.

But I also added things like You’ll Never Walk Alone by Elvis Presley, My Eyes by Travis and Kooks by David Bowie like a good parent. I just love those three songs and wish I were brought up on them. Though, I’m not ungrateful for all the classical Bengali music I listened to from my parents. I’ll have to collect some of those to give my kids.

I also added two masterpieces in, Brothers in Arms and Sultans of Swing by Dire Straits, to inspire them. Of course, I added a whole lotta other stuff too but, it’s such a long list. My playlists are so long. That’s why my cassette mixes are the best. They don’t go out of hand. Maximum 14-15 tracks . 16, if lucky (each side: 7 tracks). Maybe, I’ll make the kids a cassette too someday. Man, tapes are already old now, I wonder how old they’ll be when my kids are like, about my age. PHEW.

Carpé da collum.

TS

PS: I got some nice new jeans- I love ’em.

Leave a Reply

